Teju Cole at Greenlight Bookstore

February, 24, 2011 @Greenlight Bookstore Bklyn NYC -Teju Cole, author of the critically received “Open City” read before an audience of numerous friends and many new fans.

“In other words, it is an ongoing reverie in the tradition of W.G. Sebald or Nicholson Baker, but with the welcome interruptions of the friends and strangers Julius meets as he wanders Penn Station, the Upper West Side, and Brussels during a short holiday, and amid discussions of Alexander Hamilton, black identity, and the far left–a truly American novel emerges.” –Publishers Weekly

A haunting novel about national identity, race, liberty, loss, dislocation, and surrender, Teju Cole’s Open City seethes with intelligence. Written in a clear, rhythmic voice that lingers, this book is a mature, profound work by an important new author who has much to say about our country and our world.

View additional photos at http://on.fb.me/oh6qac

Teju Cole video
photo credit: WideVision Photography/Marcia Wilson for Mosaic Literary Magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *